Five Phases of Lean Six Sigma

Lean Six Sigma has been effective in spreading its roots in the enterprise DNA to deliver services and products

that give superior value and high levels of consumer satisfaction. Projects utilising Lean Six Sigma adhere to a logical methodology structured upon five phases- Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control also known as DMAIC model.

Upgrade your career with Project Management certification courses offered by Lean Six Sigma World.

Let’s break the curiosity and deep dive into the phases of Lean Six Sigma

Guide to Lean Six Sigma process: DMAIC model

Each stage has an organizational starting point or problem to be addressed. If the question is satisfactorily answered, the project can move to the next stage. The stage duration is based on available data.

Let’s look into each phase of the model in detail.

  1. Define Phase:The Define phase is the first phase of the DMAIC model. The question that is answered in this phase is “whether the problem is defined from the business perspective”. To define the problem statement the project leader requires inputs from the company stakeholders and customers. With the help of problem statement, the boundaries can be defined for any product or service that needs to be delivered.  
  2. Measure Phase:The Measure phase is the second phase of the DMAIC model. It is the phase where baselines are established to assess the performance of a given process. The question answered at the end of this phase is whether the work flow is understood and process performance is measured at every stage. This could be the longest phase if it is not well documented or controlled.
  3. Analyze Phase: The Analyze phase is the third phase of the DMAIC model. This phases addresses the root cause of the problem faced by the customer.  The question answered at the end of this phase is “whether the root cause is identified clearly”. Depending on the nature of the problem, the analytical and statistical tools are used of lean and six sigma process.
  4. Improve Phase:The Improve phase is considered as the most crucial and is the fourth phase of DMAIC model. The solution that can be implemented is finally given in this phase. This phase is considered as the most expensive phase depending on the nature of the problem. Before implementing the solution must be comprehensively tested. The solution is considered viable at the end of the phase.
  5. Control Phase:The Control phase is the final phase of the DMAIC model. In this phase the solution is ready to be used. However, the solution cannot be implemented until it is stable in all aspects of the project and satisfies the customer needs. The phase is said to be complete when the customer does not require the help of the project leaders.

To summarize..

DMAIC model is essential in the field of project management. A widespread study of DMAIC can lead you with vast knowledge and capability in project management.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *